Find out about the membership and leadership of our Cabinet and its responsibilities.

The Cabinet is our decision-making body. Its responsibilities include monitoring the council budget, making day-to-day decisions on resources and forming partnerships with other organisations.

The Leader of the Council provides leadership to us and chairs the Cabinet. The Leader also appoints other councillors as Cabinet members. The Cabinet has collective responsibility for any decisions made.

Membership of the Cabinet

Member Role and portfolio responsibilities
Councillor David Clifford Leader of the Council
Councillor Maurice Sheehan Deputy Leader and Operational Services portfolio
Councillor Martin Tennant Deputy Leader and Major Projects and Property portfolio
Councillor Jonathan Canty Customer Experience, Transformation and Corporate portfolio
Councillor Sue Carter Democracy, Strategy and Partnerships portfolio
Councillor Gareth Lyon Planning and Economy portfolio
Councillor Paul Taylor Finance portfolio

Cabinet portfolios

Each Cabinet member is responsible for particular areas of council business - this is known as their portfolio. Cabinet members are also called portfolio holders.

Please visit our about the portfolios page for more information.

Contact us

Scroll to the top of the page