The Borough of Rushmoor was formed in 1974, bringing together the two towns of Aldershot and Farnborough.

At the same time, the former Aldershot Borough Council and the Farnborough Urban District Council joined to become Rushmoor Borough Council.

The name Rushmoor comes from the area of ancient heathland to the west of the borough, which once covered the entire area between Farnham and the edge of London.

When the new Borough of Rushmoor was established, a new coat of arms was created. For further information about the coat of arms, please visit our page about The mayor.

Honorary Alderman

The title 'Honorary Alderman' can be given to someone who is no longer a councillor, but who, in the opinion of the council, has 'rendered eminent services' to the council as a past councillor.  

We have 8 Honorary Aldermen, who have each given at least 25 years of service to the council and have been past mayors.

  • Terry Bridgeman
  • Donald Cappleman
  • John Debenham MBE
  • Sue Dibble
  • Anthony Gardiner
  • Roger Kimber
  • John Marsh
  • David Welch

Contact us

Scroll to the top of the page