Hampshire County Council elections

Results of Hampshire County Council elections on Thursday 4 May 2017.

Hampshire County Council elections took place on Thursday 4 May using new county boundary areas. These five areas, known as county divisions, are:

  • Aldershot North
  • Aldershot South
  • Farnborough North
  • Farnborough South
  • Farnborough West


Aldershot North

Name of candidateDescriptionResult
BETSWORTH KevinUK Independence Party (UKIP)374
BRIDGEMAN TerryLabour Party1079
CHOUDHARY CharlesThe Conservative Party Candidate1336 (ELECTED)
KOHER Abu HaydarLiberal Democrats244

Turnout: 28.42%.

Aldershot South

Name of candidateDescriptionResult
AMOS LenUK Independence Party (UKIP)272
CARD Craig WilliamLiberal Democrats194
RUST FrankLabour Party1621
SIMPSON GaryGreen Party148
WITHERS BillThe Conservative Party Candidate1624 (ELECTED)

Turnout: 28.59%.

Farnborough North

Name of candidateDescriptionResult
BELL DaveUK Independence Party (UKIP)723
CARD Leola JaneLiberal Democrats425
CHADD RozThe Conservative Party Candidate1935 (ELECTED)
GRATTAN CliveLabour Party1120

Turnout: 30.75%.

Farnborough South

Name of candidateDescriptionResult
DIBBS Roland Leslie GeoffreyConservative Party Candidate2193 (ELECTED)
HARDING ChrisUK Independence Party (UKIP)237
KOHER CHOWDHURY AbulLiberal Democrats900
SOUTHON Colin FrederickLabour Party575
WALL John JeffreyIndependent433
WALLACE DonnaGreen Party336

Turnout: 32.59%.

Farnborough West

Name of candidateDescriptionResult
COOPER RodThe Conservative Party Candidate2168 (ELECTED)
DEKKER Alain StephenLiberal Democrats457
GADSBY SueLabour Party587
HOWELL Peta MartineGreen Party189
STAPLEHURST MarkUK Independence Party (UKIP)1167

Turnout: 32.8%.

Election timetable and notices

22 March at 7pmCandidates and Agents Briefing, Concorde Room, Rushmoor Borough Council
24 Marchpdf icon Notice of Election - Hampshire County Council [71kb]
25 March  to 31 MarchInitial despatch of poll / postal poll cards delivered
4pm on 4 April

pdf icon Notification of Election Agent - County [37kb]

Not later than 4pm on 5 April

pdf icon Statement of Persons Nominated - Hampshire County Council [107kb]

Thursday 13 AprilDeadline for registering to vote
5pm on 18 AprilDeadline for new postal vote applications and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes
Around 21 AprilInitial despatch of postal packs
5pm 25 AprilDeadline for proxy vote applications
Not later than 25 AprilPublication of Notice of Poll
26 AprilDeadline for notification of appointment polling and counting agents
27 AprilFirst date that electors can apply for replacements for lost postal votes
4 May from 7am to 10pmPolling day
5pm on 4 May


Did you find what you were looking for?Did you find what you were looking for?
    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.

    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.


Elections and electoral registration
Tel: 01252 398824
View full details


A - Z of Council Services