To provide you with the best experience on this website, we use cookies. If you continue to use our site, we'll assume you're happy with our use of cookies. About cookies we use.

 
 
 
 

Electoral boundary reviews

Details of the boundary reviews of our council wards, county council divisions and of the parliamentary constituency.

Review of County Council division boundaries

On 26 May 2015, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England started the first period of consultation for carrying out an electoral review of Hampshire County Council.  The aim of the review is to recommend electoral division boundaries that mean each county councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.  The Commission also aims to make sure that the pattern of divisions reflects the interests and identities of local communities, as well as promoting effective local government.  To achieve these aims, the Commission will re-draw division boundaries across the county.

Between 26 May and 3 August 2015, the Commission is inviting comments on the division boundaries for the authority.  It has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the County Council should have 78 county councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.  The review dates are show in the table below.  You can find out more on the Local Government Boundary Review website.

 Date from:Date to:
Consultation on division arrangements26 May 20153 August 2015
Consultation on draft recommendations17 November 201511 January 2016
Final recommendations5 April 2016 

Review of parliamentary constituency boundaries

The Boundary Commission reviews all parliamentary constituency boundaries in England every five years.

In 2011, the Commission issued a consultation on its initial proposals to reduce the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 502. The proposals also aimed to make sure that constituencies had a similar number of registered electors. Electorates would be no smaller than 72,810 and no larger than 80,473. In the south-east region, the number of constituencies would reduce from 84 to 83.

As a result of the consultation, the Commission issued revised proposals and in the south-east, 58 of the 83 constituencies proposed originally have been revised. There are substantial revisions in Hampshire,  including the Aldershot constituency, where the revised proposals incorporate the Church Crookham East and West wards instead of Fleet North.  This left an electorate of 79,493.

However, following a vote in Parliament, the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 received Royal Assent on 31 January 2013, which had the effect of delaying the parliamentary constituency boundary review until 2018.  You can find out more on the Boundary Commission for England website.

 
Did you find what you were looking for?Did you find what you were looking for?
  1.  
  2.  
    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.

    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.

Related documents

Contacts

Elections and electoral registration
elections@rushmoor.gov.uk
Tel: 01252 398826 / 28
Fax: 01252 398830
View full details

 

A - Z of Council Services