Electoral boundary reviews

Details of the boundary reviews of our council wards, county council divisions and of the parliamentary constituency.

Review of County Council division boundaries - consultation

On 26 May 2015, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England started the first period of consultation for carrying out an electoral review of Hampshire County Council. 

The aim of the review was to recommend electoral division boundaries that meant each county councillor represented approximately the same number of voters. The Commission also aimed to make sure that the pattern of divisions reflected the interests and identities of local communities, as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, the Commission is re-drawing division boundaries across Hampshire.

The Commission consulted on its draft recommendation and published the outcome of the consultation on 5 April 2016.

Although it had originally intended to publish its final recommendations in April it decided that because of the significance of the proposed changes in Havant and New Forest,it will carry out an extra phase of consultation in those areas. This consultation took place between 10 May and 6 June 2016. 

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of Hampshire and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county on 16 August 2016. 

The draft divisional pattern for Hampshire is for there to be 72 single-member divisions and three two-member divisions. Therefore Hampshire County Council will have 78 councillors, as at present. The change in proposed  divisional boundaries affects all parts of the county. You can find out more information on the Local Government Boundary Review website.

Review of parliamentary constituency boundaries

The Boundary Commission reviews all parliamentary constituency boundaries in England every five years.

In 2011, the Commission issued a consultation on its initial proposals to reduce the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 502. The proposals also aimed to make sure that constituencies had a similar number of registered electors. Electorates would be no smaller than 72,810 and no larger than 80,473. In the south-east region, the number of constituencies would reduce from 84 to 83.

As a result of the consultation, the Commission issued revised proposals and in the south-east, 58 of the 83 constituencies proposed originally have been revised. There are substantial revisions in Hampshire,  including the Aldershot constituency, where the revised proposals incorporate the Church Crookham East and West wards instead of Fleet North.  This left an electorate of 79,493.

However, following a vote in Parliament, the Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 received Royal Assent on 31 January 2013, which had the effect of delaying the parliamentary constituency boundary review until 2018.  You can find out more on the Boundary Commission for England website.

Did you find what you were looking for?Did you find what you were looking for?
    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.

    1. We use your views to improve our website. If you have a query about our services, please email customerservices@rushmoor.gov.uk.

Related documents


Elections and electoral registration
Tel: 01252 398824
Fax: 01252 524017
View full details


A - Z of Council Services